Ex-Girlfriend Club

Starring:

  • Song Ji-hyo as Kim Soo-jin, producer yellow below
  • Byun Yo-han as Bang Myung-soo, webcomic author
  • Do Sang-woo as Jo Gun, director
  • Lee Yoon-ji as Jang Hwa-young, ex-girlfriend green
  • Jang Ji-eun as Na Ji-ah, ex-girlfriend red
  • Ryu Hwayoung as Rara/Goo Geun-hyung, ex-girlfriend blue

About: Kim Soo-jin is assigned to produce a movie based on a webtoon about the author’s past relationships. The author turns out to be her ex-boyfriend.

Genre: Romance / Comedy

N0 of eps: 12, thankfully, was meant to be 16          Release date: 8 May 2015

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥   ♥ ♥ ♥

Recommended: If you like rom/com’s with some depth

Reasons for watching: Song Ji-hyo

Reasons to keep watching: Totally not what I expected, it was not typical at all.

Re-watch: Maybe? It was a great, well-made drama but not heart thumping squeal worthy.

Gush time: It was surprising! I thought it would be some shallow rom/com, some cat fights with the ex-girlfriends etc. It was so much more! I would actually describe it as more comedy than romance.

Byun Yo-han got famous from Misaeng. I didn’t think he made that much of an impression, nor is he good-looking in Misaeng, so I was surprised he was the lead. He did a good job though. I can’t imagine how his character managed to get such good-looking strong-willed girlfriends but some people are just charming I suppose. I would have like to see more of their past relationships in the drama, or the web-comic. That would be fun to read, the web-comic.

It’s good to see Do Sang-woo move up to second lead. He’s attractive and a good actor. I wonder if he will be a leading man next.

The drama was cut down four episodes. I wonder how it would have played out at the full 16 episodes but I think I’m glad it was shortened. It would have probably felt dragged on otherwise.

The ex-girlfriends are compared both to animals and colours. As a viewer I can really see the comparison, it’s great! To be able to fully show all the characters personalities in a few short episodes! I wonder what animal Kim Soo-jin would be though.

Kim Soo-jin is a producer. The rival program is Producer. The coincidences.

SPOILER:
She wasn’t actually his girlfriend! What!? When that happened I was so afraid how that would play out because if it played out typically I would hate it. But it didn’t! It was really well done! I didn’t end up hating the guy, thankfully. But that moment was ‘WHAT!?’ I don’t think I’ve ever been so shocked watching a drama before.

Conclusion: I would put it on the same depth as Producer which was running at the same time (and what they lost their viewership to). So don’t pass the drama up based on viewership ratings!

Leave a Reply

