Monstar

Starring:
  • Ha Yeon-soo as Min Se-yi
  • Yong Jun-hyung (Beast) as Yoon Seol-chan (MIB)
  • Kang Ha-neul as Jung Sun-woo

About: Min Se-yi transfers to a new school where popular Men In Black member Yoon Seol-chan attends.

monstar poster.png

Genre: Romance / Music / School / Teen

N0 of eps: 12        Release date: 17 May 2013

Rating: ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪  ♪ ♪ ♪    first few eps = 10/10

Recommended: If you like youth or romance or musicals

Reasons for watching: Idol at school.

Reasons to keep watching: The music ♥

Re-watched: I watch these two music scenes all the time. I don’t think I will watch the whole drama again.

Supporting cast:
  • BtoB’s Sungjae, Hyunsik, Minhyuk, Changsub as other members of MIB but couldn’t tell in my 360p video.
  • Dahee (GLAM) as Kim Na-na, tough girl
  • Lee Joo-yeon (After School, former) as Ah-ri, actress ep. 1

Gush time: When I first started watching this drama I wasn’t expecting too much. Min Se-yi was such a strange character. But then at the end of the first episode she sings that song with the other kid and it was amazing! That was when I got hooked. The rawness of it! The emotion! A song has never made me so close to crying before. Ever! Even just writing this brings my emotions back to that moment.

The other song I love was at the start of the third episode with Yoon Seol-chan on the piano. So cute! The lyrics mean so much! It’s so cute!

The best part of this drama was there were no OSTs. Most of the songs are done by the characters either unaccompanied or accompanied by instruments they are playing. The actors are all amazing singers. Yong Jun-hyung isn’t even a singer in Beast but a rapper! So his singing is lacking compared to Kang Ha-neul but that is what makes it so realistic! Kang Ha-neul is an absolutely amazing singer. He’s a musical actor for a reason but I’m glad he made the transition to the screen so I can see him everywhere. Also the lyrics of the songs contribute so much to the story, it makes it so much better!

♥ ♥ ♥ So cute! ♥ ♥ ♥

I really loved Yong Jun-hyung in this. I don’t follow Beast and I tried to after watching this but they just didn’t appeal to me but that has not decreased my love for Yong Jun-hyung in this. His voice is so sexy.

A lot of people comment that Kang Ha-neul stole the show. He’s an amazing actor so I can see where they are coming from but I just can’t see him as a main lead or the one getting the girl in any drama. I can only imagine him crying in the corner heartbroken. His popularity is increasing so I wonder if he will be the leading man one day.

♥ ♥ ♥ Kyaaa kisses! ♥ ♥ ♥

Rant time: I completely skipped anything with the old man in it if I could. Just couldn’t be bothered. I also don’t completely understand Se-yi’s backstory, I don’t know if I skipped it or what. They explained it towards the end of the series and my interest had already died out by then. They left it too late.

Although I said I love the songs, that feeling decreased as the series went on. The first song was just so full of emotion but the last performance song was more like standard pop. It could be said they started too strongly but I wouldn’t have gotten so into it if it weren’t for that first song.

I was sort of rooting for Kang Ha-neul and Dahee’s characters to get together by the end but it wasn’t to be.

Even though I said I like Kang Ha-neul but I skipped his solo songs. I didn’t like his character too much.

To note: Dahee went to jail for blackmailing another celebrity in 2014. GLAM broke up at the same time. Maybe her acting was so good because she didn’t need to act…?

Conclusion: Watch at least the first few episodes, they are 10/10.

2 thoughts on “Monstar

Leave a Reply

