Mask

Starring:
  • Soo Ae as Byun Ji-sook / Seo Eun-ha
  • Ju Ji-hoon as Choi Min-woo, Seo Eun-ha’s arranged fiancée
  • Yeon Jung-hoon as Min Seok-hoon
  • Yoo In-young as Choi Mi-yeon, Min Seok-hoon’s wife and Choi Min-woo’s sister
  • Hoya (Infinite) as Byun Ji-hyuk, Byun Ji-sook’s brother

About: Byun Ji-sook’s family is in debt to loan sharks. Seo Eun-ha is Byun Ji-sook’s doppelgänger and the daughter of a congressman who is engaged to Choi Min-woo. Choi Min-woo is from a chaebol family, although he’s illegitimate.

Genre: Romance / Melodrama

N0 of eps: 20      Release date: 27 May 2015

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥   ♥  might’ve gotten 8/10 if it finished at 16 eps

Recommended: If you love romance

Reasons for watching: Sounded interesting. Haven’t seen Ju Ji-hoon since Goong.

Reasons to keep watching: It was good enough.

Re-watch: No.

I gave this a 6/10 because Choi Min-woo had all the elements of a typical K-drama chaebol but the change that occurred in him after being influenced by Byun Ji-sook was more realistic. He really took on and understood her viewpoints rather than doing things because he thought she’d like it. He took initiative and went further than the typical poor-people-are-people-too rant she gave him. He didn’t need everything spelled out for him. If he was a more typical chaebol I would’ve given this drama a 5/10 because this drama just wasn’t interesting past episode 15. It should have been a 16 episode drama.

It also got marked down because I didn’t have shipping feels for them. Visually they were cute but I just didn’t have any feels past episode 5 or so. They got together pretty early so the rest of the drama focused too much on the bad guy and there’s only so much of the same old *shove* ‘I’m going to kill you if you don’t listen to me’ I can watch.

Gush time: Choi Min-woo was really cute. I’m so glad he exists as a non-typical chaebol but at the same time he’s a bit less interesting than a typical chaebol. I don’t care though he’s still cute.

Rant time: I wouldn’t call Soo Ae a bad actress but she didn’t bring forth any emotion for me. I didn’t like her face or her hair. I don’t think I like any actress’ with her kind of face, I wonder if it’s me or them. I don’t like many actress’ anyway hmm…

There were way too many repetitive bad guy scenes. I get it already!! You don’t need to do this over and over!

Conclusion: I wouldn’t call this a waste of my time and I did end up finishing it, I didn’t really watch eps.16-19 though. I liked it at the start and it gave me higher expectations than the rest of drama delivered. It really went on too long. It was dragged out too much.

Leave a Reply

