Coffee Prince

A.K.A.: The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince

About: 24 year old Go Eun-chan is the breadwinner of her family, working multiple jobs. She has no time to care about her looks, has practical short hair and is often mistaken for a guy. Choi Han-kyul is the irresponsible 3rd generation of a food chaebol that has never worked in his life.

When they meet, he hires her, thinking she’s a he, to pretend to be his gay lover so he can escape from the blind dates his grandmother sets up. When his grandmother gives him an ultimatum, he takes over an old coffee shop renaming it “Coffee Prince.” He only hires good-looking males to attract female customers so Eun-chan continues to hide her gender in order to work there.

Han-kyul’s cousin, Choi Han-sung, is a music producer and his ex-girlfriend, Han Yoo-joo, an artist. They dated for 8 years before she left him for a man called DK 2 years ago. Now she’s back in Seoul and they meet again.

Starring:
  • Yoon Eun-hye as Go Eun-chan above middle
  • Gong Yoo as Choi Han-kyul far left
  • Lee Sun-kyun as Choi Han-sung, Han-kyul’s cousin
  • Chae Jung-an as Han Yoo-joo, Han-kyul’s first love & Han-sung’s ex
  • Kim Jae-wook as Noh Sun-ki, waffle chef 2nd from right
  • Kim Dong-wook as Jin Ha-rim, waiter 3rd from right
  • Lee Eon as Hwang Min-yeop, waiter far right

Genre: Romance / Comedy / Cross-dressing

No of eps: 17          Release date: 2 July 2007

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Recommended: If you like rom/com’s

Reasons for watching: Cross-dressing. I Googled “cross-dressing dramas.” I remember.

Reasons to stop watching at ep.11-ish: I was 15 when I watched it so I don’t know if my opinion would change if I were to watch it now but I don’t think so. Perhaps I would actually get around to finishing it but that’s it. Well the reason I stopped watching it was because I’d run out of internet data that month and I just never bothered to follow up on it when I got my internet back.

Gush time: I hadn’t gotten up to the kiss scenes in the drama but I’ve seen heaps of pictures and comments that the kiss scenes were really good. Yoon Eun-hye does great kiss scenes so I know that’s true. I couldn’t find any gifs sadly, that would’ve been better.

I don’t like Gong Yoo’s looks but he is a really good actor however it’s not enough to make me like him.

Cross-dress dramas are usually pretty bad I’ve found but I suppose this one is not bad… for a cross-dressing drama. Yoon Eun-hye is a good actress and I think she played the tomboy well for a Korean but I don’t particularly like her.

Rant time: It was a really weird love square. Again I don’t know if it was because I was young and naive to the Korean drama ways but it was weird. Choi Han-kyul was too aggressive for my liking and Go Eun-chan too pathetic for a tomboy, which is very typical for Korean dramas I’ve come to realise even if it’s been established that they are a martial artist. I also have no idea what the other two in the love square were doing. I didn’t get the timeline that had happened between the two guys and Han Yoo-joo.

Reading on Wiki, she’s Choi Han-kyul’s first love that he never got over and she was never interested in actually dating him. Why? Is she a flirt? A mean manipulative b****? But she didn’t really give that impression? Except she did leave her boyfriend of 8 years for some other random guy… Only to go back to the boyfriend 2 years later. And I have no idea when this first love of Choi Han-kyul’s was supposed to have happened. Was it before, during or after she was dating the cousin. Also she dated the cousin for 8 years, that’s a long time! Surely Han-kyul would’ve known they were together right? But I got the impression that he didn’t know. Did he know after all? Did I just not understand or was this stuff all just weirdly left out?

I have absolutely no idea why the cousin kissed Eun-chan. I mean so it’s not just his girl friend who is a player but himself too? I suppose they are suited for each other then. Seriously why?

Leave a Reply

